Building Fences

love the colour on these
(photo credit: fairweatherpaddler)

Last year, I had great designs on a sweet pea screen. The dreamy heavenly vision ran riot in my mind. I would paint it purple. And the plants would ramble happily through it smothering it in greenery and deliciously scented flowers. I got adventurous in my planning. I could mix it in with hollyhocks and sunflowers. Mostly because they would need supporting and I had collected seeds from “volunteer gardens” along the way.

As with much of my plans, it didn’t quite work out. I never painted anything. Probably for the best really. Mr. Fairweather wouldn’t have stopped complaining about a giant purple fence that can’t be missed as you drive in. The sunflowers were too short for their location and struggled to bloom, I forgot that hollyhocks were biannuals and wouldn’t be flowering in the first year and the sweet peas were demolished by some unidentified garden pest (more than likely, my hens).

the sea of weeds screen in reality
(photo credit: fairweatherpaddler)

Never mind, God loves a trier. I tackled it again this year. Still no paint. We shall go for the natural rustic look in keeping with my sea of weeds it carefully conceals behind it. I sowed sweet peas and brought them on to a good size before planting out while the hen wasn’t looking. She still found some but one or two survived much to my surprise. And as for the hollyhocks, they took off like nobody’s business. I had to keep remember to weave them back in to the centre of the pallet fence but other than that and a bit of weeding, they have been extremely low maintenance.

isn’t it a stunner?
(photo credit: fairweatherpaddler)

They look amazing soaring up behind my lily forest. Can’t wait to see what colours come on again next year. I briefly worried that I hadn’t sown any this year so wouldn’t have flowers next year but some friendly on-line advice has reassured me that I can show this autumn and all will be well. Phew…

love the colours
(photo credit: fairweatherpaddler)
a whole fence of these? What’s not to love?
(photo credit: fairweatherpaddler)

Mr. Fairweather was busy recently strimming back the percolation area and clearing away around some beech hedging. He uncovered a few more large pallets I had forgotten about. They aren’t in the best of shape but I think there’s life in the old boys yet. Mr. Fairweather disagrees. I am cooking up more grand gardening designs. I have visions of clematis and honeysuckle clambering up and through the pallets. Maybe even some rambling roses. (Any other suggestions gratefully accepted). The foliage covering over the timber, the scent hanging heavy in the air and the bees buzzing lazily around. A girl needs a dream.

hollyhocks soaring behind lilies
(photo credit: fairweatherpaddler)

And surely I could get my sweet peas to survive and thrive eventually? A girl needs a dream. Now just to negotiate where the fences might go.

10 thoughts on “Building Fences

  1. Oh, so beautiful! Do you have some gladiolus in there too? (couldn’t tell from the pics) I don’t know if you have access to this where you are, but my mom was getting really sick of all the critters attacking her garden, so she got something from her local farm store that is all-natural and includes cinnamon and garlic – it stopped the critters from eating her plants!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh that sounds great. Shall have to investigate it further. Have gladioli in nearby bed. Well spotted. Just coming in to bloom now. Look amazing if I could just keep them upright.
      Thanks for stopping by the blog.

      Like

Leave a Reply

