Six on Saturday 05-08-2017

In the name of being gentle with myself, I have decided to join in fortnightly with the Six on Saturday meme that @cavershamjj runs over at The Propagator. He runs it weekly but you can feel free to join in weekly, fortnightly or even monthly. Here are my six – the good, the bad and the ugly

One. I had basically shut my eyes to the tomatoes in the tunnel. The ducks had broken in and trampled plants left right and centre. Surely no hope left. Then we were away on holiday and the neighbours diligently took over the watering of the tunnel and the tomatoes seemed to make a recovery. A heat wave hit and they took off. The responsible thing to have done then was to stake them there and then. But we can all guess how this turned out. with low iron and trips to hospital, it just never happened. The tomatoes started to crawl out along the ground at you as you entered the polytunnel. It was too much for me to deal with. I needed to concentrate on keeping me and this growing baby well. Recently though, I spotted some small but perfectly formed cherry tomatoes. They even started to ripen. Little Paddler heads out to pick them and insists I eat them on the spot – green, half ripe or red, she is indiscriminate. But delighted with herself. We might get enough to make more chutney. Let’s call this one a win.

little sugar bombs
(photo credit: fairweatherpaddler)

Two. I need more sweet peas in my life. Doesn’t everyone?

love the rich colours in this one sneaking up the hollyhocks
(photo credit: fairweatherpaddler)

Three. My sea of weeds – oh the shame. But I tell myself that the mass of thistles, nettles, docks and rampaging raspberry plants are a haven for ground nesting birds and fabulous for pollinators of all description. Besides, hopefully next year, there may be pigs and they might love it.

this counts as a wildlife patch, right?
(photo credit: fairweatherpaddler)

Four. Moved my Angel’s fishing rod this year and it seems to be loving the room to stretch it’s roots. It flowered for the first time this summer and may be the bit I am most proud of in my flower beds. I may reorganise everything else this winter but I think this baby has found a new home.

cannot explain how happy it made me to see this
(photo credit: fairweatherpaddler)

Five. The aforementioned beds with the weeds at the edges and much staking of flowers needed are an on-going project. Think the central path needs more slate down and every so often I toy with the idea of planting a ground cover along edges of base of beds. I tell myself it would look much better and be easier maintained than the thistles, red shank and scutch that I am currently battling.

a vague attempt at order in the chaos of our patch of earth
(photo credit: fairweatherpaddler)

Six. Somehow this tomboy ended up with a little girl who can’t get enough pink in her life. My lupins have been sprawling a bit and taking over but somehow it seems to just be the purple ones that are doing this. Same with the aquilegia – team purple is taking over. So, another project this year is to harvest lupin seeds from the pink flowers and start one or two to slow the relentless march of purple in that bed. I did save seeds previously but gifted them away. So this time I am going to be a little bit selfish. All in the name of making a little girl very happy.

another project in the making – looks about ready to harvest
(photo credit: fairweatherpaddler)

If you fancy joining in with this gardening meme, please head over to The Propagator have a wee look.

16 thoughts on “Six on Saturday 05-08-2017

  1. We all have weedy patches. I do annual battle with bindweed along my long border. Pulled a bunch out of the border on Friday before going on hols. Shame about your tomatoes! See you in a couple of weeks.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I don’t worry too much about weedy patches; they often look attractive and, as you say, attract pollinators. They are merely wild flowers. I do, though, have an aversion to bindweed and cleavers, of which I’ve been surprisingly free until this year when they’re appearing everywhere. It’ll be interesting to see what colour your new lupins are 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. If we had a bigger garden, I’d certainly join in! Your little vegie/patch sounds amazing. Ours is a 1m by 3m area full of overgrown Kale, a lonely Rosemary bush, my kids fairy/dinosaur garden and lots of grass!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ooo. A fairy dinosaur garden sounds great. Ours is actually mostly thistles and nettles with a little patch of civilization in the midst of it.
      Have you looked at square foot gardening? I am sort of fascinated by it recently.

      Like

Leave a Reply

