When Friends Get You

I love when my friends get me. I really do.

Typically, with my really good friends, I might not see them for six months or more at a time. They live all over the country. We keep in contact. Usually they are much better than I am at it. But whenever we meet up, it’s like we were only chatting last week. We might not always agree on everything or see eye-to-eye on all the issues but that doesn’t stop us laughing and loving and crying and hugging and generally being there for each other.

And they get me. They get what makes me tick.

A few days ago, a friend who I hadn’t seen in almost a year arrived down with her beautiful family. The toddlers played, the husbands chatted and we caught up. She produced presents for the impending arrival. This, despite the fact that she had already donated newborn cloth nappies for me to find a worthy home for once her little one had outgrown them. She came armed with a voucher to be put towards dinners. I plan to clear out my freezer and then stock it up with meals so that when new baby arrives, we at least have emergency meals at the ready for days where cooking is out the window. It’s a good tip for any expectant mothers; stock up the freezer with pre-cooked meals. And tell visitors to bring food. My favourite, most welcome visitors in the early days were those that arrived with food or did housework when they came.

She then pulled out what looked like a shoebox with a ribbon tied around it.

First looks can be deceiving. It was in fact a BoscaBaby gift set.

beautiful in its simplicity
(photo credit: fairweatherpaddler)

“Bosca” is the Irish for box. Its a gift box that you can fill with tried and tested unique gifts for baby and mammy. My friend selected Irish made items and asked for minimal plastic packaging. She explained how I am trying (and often failing but trying nonetheless) to reduce plastic that comes in to the house and could packaging be recycled or recyclable where possible. They kindly obliged.

paper packaging – we love
(photo credit: fairweatherpaddler)

I love, love, love the gifts she selected.

presents inside presents – what’s not to love
(photo credit: fairweatherpaddler)

I have long admired Plepleple‘s teething and twiddle jewellery but the Little Paddler was long out of that phase by the time I discovered her work.

I just need a baby now to justify this
(photo credit: fairweatherpaddler)

The Anu creams were new to me. But all boxed and ribboned up they reminded me of a set of nesting Russian dolls, except these were like presents within presents. A lot of the time, the presents are all about the baby. Every so often it’s nice to get something small for the mother (or the father too – let’s not forget the poor daddies!) And the creams smell good enough to eat!

love the elegant simplicity in the packaging
(photo credit; fairweatherpaddler)
one for mammy, one for baby – fair is fair (photo credit: fairweatherpaddler)

Thanks for getting me Sinead O’Hart!

 

5 thoughts on “When Friends Get You

Leave a Reply

