A Super Daddy Cake!

“Do you want to help mammy make a cake for when daddy comes home?”

“A SUPER DADDY CAKE! YAY!!”

The sheer joy that the Little Paddler can inject in to sentences is quite infectious. I am not sure whether the super refers to the cake or the daddy or maybe it simply covers both. Either way, we have developed a habit of most weeks, making what is now referred to exclusively as a super daddy cake.

She is as always my attentive sous chef. She inspects everything and tastes and inspects again. Are you sure this is sugar? I’m not quite certain I believe you. Let me taste it one more time….. We judge the success of the baking lesson by how much flour she has on her clothes and how much cake batter is on her face and in her hair. So far, we have been pleased with the results.

Needless to say Mr. Fairweather is also quite joyful at the news of a super daddy cake. A long time ago when we were first married, I used to declare a Happy Mr. Fairweather Day. And for no reason other than I wanted to, I would produce a card and a present. I strenuously object to being told by Hallmark and other companies that on February 14th I have to show my husband I love him. I choose instead to pick him up something randomly during the year because I thought he would like it or that it made me smile and think of him. Now with a toddler in tow and a strict budget, that isn’t possible any more. Instead, we do things like make a super daddy cake. Just because we want to.

So if you fancy showing someone that you care about them (if not their waistline) then I highly recommend handing them a super daddy cake and a big mug of tea.


Super Daddy Cake (aka Peach Yoghurt Cake)

4oz butter, softened

1 + 1/2 cups caster sugar

3 eggs

1 cup Greek yoghurt

2 cups flour

1 tsp bread soda

1 tsp baking powder

1 1/2 tsp cinnamon

840g tinned peaches
Preheat oven to 175C. Grease and flour 9 inch springform tin.

Sift flour, bread soda and baking powder into a bowl and set aside. In separate bowl mix the half cup of sugar with cinnamon.

helpful toddler folding in the flour with her little baby spoon (photo credit: fairweatherpaddler)

Cream butter and cup of sugar until pale and fluffy. Add the eggs one at a time, beating well. Then add yoghurt until just combined. Fold the flour mix in gently.

my very artistic effort (photo credit: fairweatherpaddler)

Spoon half the mixture into the cake tin. Top with half the peaches. I slice some and arrange vaguely artistically and leave a whole peach half in the centre. Then sprinkle half the sugar mix. Repeat with remaining batter, peaches and sugar.

Bake for about an hour or until top of cake springs back under your finger.

you’d have to smile coming home to this (photo credit: fairweatherpaddler)

 

7 thoughts on “A Super Daddy Cake!

Leave a Reply

