Hope Lives On

A short post today. I had given up on the Great Spud Experiment. I didn’t water the plants enough. They never got tall, never seemed to need earthing up and never flowered. I needed to find something else to use the tyres for so it wasn’t a complete disaster or a total eyesore. Maybe I would try asparagus in them. They wouldn’t take up valuable space in my no-dig vegetable beds while they were settling in and getting established, and plus we would have delicious asparagus. All good in theory, Mr Fairweather agreed. Problem was, the budget wasn’t stretching to asparagus crowns at present and I really wanted to do something with them now. I was feeling a bit depressed and down in the dumps and over whelmed.

dreaming the dream so long ago (photo credit: fairweatherpaddler)
dreaming the dream so long ago
(photo credit: fairweatherpaddler)

Then I spotted a couple of lavender plants languishing in pots by the front door. Now wouldn’t they be lovely bushing out in the tyres? And I wouldn’t have to keep remembering to water them if they were in the ground. Besides lavender do well in dry(ish) conditions don’t they? Quick – I better look that one up before I kill another plant.

So accompanied by the Little Paddler and the as yet unnamed hens I went to work at the tyres pull weeds and loosening the soil. Little Paddler was hunting for worms. Apparently she can tell the difference between worms and is very assertive in her corrections when I get them wrong. “No mammy. That’s not the daddy worm. That’s the sister worm.” Then you have to mind them for a while for her until she decides whether to feed them to the hens or throw them back in to the tyre. Big decisions going on here. But then I found these!

this is what it must feel like to strike gold (photo credit: fairweatherpaddler)
this is what it must feel like to strike gold
(photo credit: fairweatherpaddler)

I had potatoes. Not a lot. But more than I expected. My gardening experiments had not been a total disaster and I was not a total failure at this gardening business. We collected them in an old flower pot and were going to put them in the dinner that night. But first I had to get the lavender in to the ground before we retired from our work. Besides, the rain clouds were gathering.

“What’s this mammy?”

“Lavender.”

“Lampa?”

“Yup. Lavender. Come smell it. Isn’t it lovely?”

lampa (photo credit: fairweatherpaddler)
lampa
(photo credit: fairweatherpaddler)

First one in and the hens were too distracted in under the broccoli to root it up. Success. It was getting cool, and the clouds were getting blacker. I moved on to the second tyre. Little Paddler toddles over. “Here mammy. Hold my lamp.” I look up to find the first lavender plant swinging from her fist. She dumps it in my lap and starts looking for the sister worm…..

 

Leave a Reply

