What To Do, What To Do?

One of these days I’ll get organised. I promise. Just not today nor tomorrow.

I took a little unscheduled break from the blog. You may have noticed. We actually went off on a little family holiday. Other more organised bloggers would have scheduled blog posts to automatically post while they were away so that readers were none the wiser and didn’t miss out on anything. Sadly, I am not that sort of blogger.

I am not that sort of gardener either. The organised kind. I fool myself sometimes that I can be that sort but as I look out the window at the weeds that march relentlessly on, I have to give up the ghost. About the only thing that might save my garden from weeds now is a goat. And yes, I realise that if I got a goat again, it would probably break loose and destroy everything in sight. Besides, Mr. Fairweather has vetoed any more goats.

So what is my plan for this month?

Good question. I think, I shall pause and assess what has worked well and what hasn’t.

cornflowers are collapsing everywhere but still look fantastic (photo credit: fairweatherpaddler)
cornflowers are collapsing everywhere but still look fantastic
(photo credit: fairweatherpaddler)

In my flower beds, I think the lilies really need something beneath them to act as ground cover. The gladioli could do with staking up and ditto for the ground cover – they need more anenomes. The lupins look great at the beginning and then they just collapse everywhere and make the place look like a total mess. I chopped them back to see if it helped and to give some other plants room to breathe but it doesn’t seem to have helped. Maybe I did it too late. The poor irises barely got seen beneath the lupins and cornflowers. Think next year I’ll skip the cornflowers. The aquilegia did great but I’d love some with other colours than the purple. I think visits to the neighbours with a spade and barrow are called for later on in the season. The sweet peas are struggling in my pallet screen.

rainbow chard in overdrive (photo credit: fairweatherpaddler)
rainbow chard in overdrive
(photo credit: fairweatherpaddler)

The vegetable beds were planted too densely. There’s a reason people suggest a number of plants per square foot or foot length. But now I know. And I am definitely going to have to get better at successional sowing. Always, always plant more peas. A life lesson really. You can never have enough peas. The Great Spud Experiment, I fear, was a bit of a failure but I am holding out hope for the garlic. And as for the straw bales…. Not rotted enough before I planted in them I reckon. And something is digging up my strawberry plants.

they don't make it as far as the front door (photo credit: fairweatherpaddler)
they don’t make it as far as the front door
(photo credit: fairweatherpaddler)

However, I have had great results with my rainbow chard and spinach. What peas came were delicious – none of them made it in to the house. The Little Paddler and I scoffed the lot of them. I am getting lovely courgettes. It took a bit of experimentation to figure out how big to let these round courgettes go but think I have it now. And my heads of calabrese are coming on well.

So what do I plan on doing this month.

nom nom nom (photo credit: fairweatherpaddler)
nom nom nom
(photo credit: fairweatherpaddler)

Well first things first. The ducks are for the chop. We had a chat and decided to send them off to a small organic farm where they act as a poultry abbatoir not far from here. Mr. Fairweather dropped them off this evening on his way to rowing practice. We’ll collect twelve carcasses, ready for freezer or oven, on Wednesday morning. I can’t wait. Smallholder 1 – Mr. Fox 0!

The Khaki Campbells are settling in well now. But I fear that out of eight ducklings, we only have three females. So that means we’ll have four males for the chop in a few weeks and will have to keep an eye out for another few females.

Clean out my tunnel. I gave up the ghost of it a while back. The cucumbers and aubergines are still growing away in there as are the sweet potatoes. But mostly now it’s thistles again. I need Mr. Fairweather to clear out or at least tidy away all his timber for drying so that I can get a bit more organised. I’d like to be able to do some winter salads etc in the tunnel this year. So watch this space.

I may yet turn out to be a beekeeper (photo credit: fairweatherpaddler)
I may yet turn out to be a beekeeper
(photo credit: fairweatherpaddler)

Harvest some honey.

Research how to get section honey. This is my big dream with the bees. For when I am an organised and responsible beekeeper. Someday.

Prune my fruit trees. This will give the fruit space to ripen well. Or in the case of the pears, room to grow.

I think realistically speaking that’s enough for now. But if you are feeling more enthusiastic than I, here is what I planned this time last year.

7 thoughts on “What To Do, What To Do?

  1. I can’t believe how much you get done! We have given up the battle against the weeds for the summer, again. The foxes got a duck so I am down to three. I wish I had a place to drop off poultry for processing but we don’t, so all our poultry ends up as pets. Nothing wrong with that but we are far from being self-sufficient!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks. With the constant battle against weeds, it feels like I get nothing done. Like I’m climbing up a hill constantly but I have to remind myself that I do in fact get things done. And all with a toddler in tow. 😀
      It is so tough to find time to kill, gut and butcher animals yourself. I can understand them turning in to pets. But always so sad when the fox gets them.

      Like

  2. oh I don’t like all this chop chop business……
    and rest easy—I no more schedule automatic blogging posts in my “absences” than the man in the moon—life is…well…too much like life to worry with such–if they happen it’s an abbreviated version or I simply give the heads up I’m off and about for a tad bit—yet then guilt gets the better of me and I seek out some sort of wifi on a trip to throw something up there 🙂
    The garden is looking grand and I too suffer from that whole planting and space issue—as I tend to fill in the empty space not making the necessary accommodations for things like, growth…
    then things do tend to look a little tight and bunched up—kindred spirits we are 🙂
    And with the chaos in this country over all this election business—no matter who wins, I’ve made it well known I’ll be taking my show on the road and will move to the green isle of my forbearers…..

    chop chop eh….
    duck a l’ orange….
    it is tasty I must admit……

    Like

  3. You need to get yourself a tap for that hive, I think they exist, probably at 26 gazillion patented euros. You’re doing really well, you know. Which isn’t much coming from a brown-fingered failure, but what you’re suffering from here is either progress or learning and this is good. Promise.

    Sad about the cornflowers, though. I love cornflowers. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ve seen those hives with taps on the Internet. Bit out of my league at the min. 😊
      I like the cornflowers themselves. Maybe the more traditional variety rather than the modern ones might be better. Think they are bit shorter.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. totally right, you can never, ever have enough peas. I also want to master successional sowing, but I am not sure when that will happen. We have 12 pekin ducks who have already outstayed their welcome, but finding the time to kill them is proving difficult …. maybe next weekend….

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

