Happy Birthday To Me

This week is my blogging anniversary, Wow! A whole year has gone by since my first post. I’m a bit in shock if I am honest. In shock that I have found something to write about that other people are interested in. In shock that I have managed to put up three posts most weeks. (Not in shock that some weeks it just didn’t happen.) In shock at the genuine relationships I have struck up with my blog readers.

But especially I am shocked that people liked my blog enough to nominate it for an award. Not once but twice. I was recently nominated for a Liebster Award by Pamela at Bee Organized With Pamela. I am so thrilled. I have seen the Liebster Award on other blogs but didn’t know too much so I went off to research. It’s more involved that I realised:

Back in 2011 the rules were a simple case of acknowledgement of the nominator and to nominate 5 more. Now in 2016 it is a little more involved!
If you have been nominated for The Liebster Award AND YOU CHOOSE TO ACCEPT IT, write a blog post about the Liebster award in which you:
1. Thank the person who nominated you, and post a link to their blog on your blog. Try to include a little promotion for the person who nominated you. They will thank you for it and those who you nominate will also help you out as well.
2. Display the award on your blog — by including it in your post and/or displaying it using a “widget” or a “gadget”. (Note that the best way to do this is to save the image to your own computer and then upload it to your blog post.) At the bottom of this post I’ve included a whole lot of images you can use for your 2016 Liebster Award.
3. For the 2016 Liebster Award I will be shaking things up! Write a 150-300 word post about your favourite blog that is not your own. Explain why you like the blog, provide links.
4. Provide 10 random facts about yourself. (This year I’m making this optional. If you wish to engage with your readers it’s a great idea to include random facts about you.)
6. Nominate 5 – 11 blogs that you feel deserve the award, who have a less than 200 followers. (Note that you can always ask the blog owner this since not all blogs display a widget that lets the readers know this information!)
7. List these rules in your post. Once you have written and published it, you then have to:
8. Inform the people/blogs that you nominated that they have been nominated for the Liebster award and provide a link for them to your post or mine if you don’t have all the information so that they can learn about it (they might not have ever heard of it!)

 

My questions from Pamela took a lot of mulling over but here goes.

1 – Who has most inspired you in life and why?

Surprise, surprise. I am going to say my dad. He was a quiet, softly spoken gentleman who commanded authority when needed but was happiest plugging away at a maths puzzle or digging in the garden. He didn’t say much but when he did, people sat up and listened. He cared deeply about people and was gentle, kind and considerate and not a single person had a bad word to say about him.

2 – Favourite place you have ever travelled to?

I could pick lots of exotic places but I’d eventually come back to the West of Ireland when the sun is shining. When the sun is out, there is no better place in the world. Fact.

3 – Place you would most like to travel to and why?

The Ice Hotel in Sweden. I have just always wanted to go which makes no sense as I have no sense of balance and can’t walk on ice and am ridiculously accident prone.

4 – What is your favourite book and why does it speak to you?

Tough to pick one as I love books so much but I read A History of the Senses by Margaret Atwood during my thesis year and have come back to it a couple of times. She takes each sense as a chapter and looks at it and what it means to us and what its loss would mean. It really made me think about how I perceive things and what I take for granted. If you had to pick one sense you couldn’t live without – what would it be? I would have thought taste or hearing. But after reading, I would say smell. It awakes so much in us without even realising it.

5 – Do you have a hidden talent?

I had to seek counsel on this one. I thought I had none. Turns out that I was worng. I have a unique talent of being able to kill flies and wasps by flicking my fingers at them all ninja like.

6 – What is your best character trait?

I have no idea. I think that this is a question I would have to ask others. Answers on a postcard please. Or in the comment section at least.

7 – What strength in others do you admire most?

Kindness, gentleness and generosity of spirit. I think that lots in the world is so crass and there are few in the world that can be called ladies and gentlemen these days.

8 – If you could meet anyone from history, who would you choose and why?

My grandparents. I didn’t know them. I know some stories. I wish I had met them and knew more of who they were – these people who shaped my family and so shaped me.

9 – What is the best advice you have ever received?

Don’t outstay your welcome – leave before you are asked to and shut up before you lose your audience. Keep it short and sweet so people will want to see and speak to you again. (Or words to that effect.)

10 – Favourite meal and whom you’d most like to share it with?

A pot of pelau, some two potato salad and a few beers with my friends.

11 – What inspired you to start your blog?

A friend’s blog and too much time on my hands. I thought – I could do this. I could write. People might even read it. What the heck.

 

Ten random facts about me:

1 – I am the older sibling in a family of two and married to the youngest of a family of eleven.

2 – If you need a pub cleared in five minutes flat, that ask me to sing.

3 – But I won’t sing, because I am really shy and don’t do well in big groups. In fact, I will often pull out of things at the last minute because I feel totally overwhelmed at the thoughts of going in to a big group.

4 – I suffered with post natal depression after having my Little Paddler. It was awful.

5 – When we go out for a meal, I will read the dessert menu first before I decide whether to have a starter just so I can save room for a good dessert.

6 – I love getting out in a kayak but secretly fear getting stuck in said kayak upside-down underwater and not getting out.

7 – I have no self confidence. Or very little. I constantly doubt myself and second guess myself and question what’s it all about.

8 – I have wobbly ankles which will cave and turn at the drop of a hat. It is agony for a minute or so and then I carry on as normal.

9 – I can pack away the grub. When I was in school, I would visit my friend’s house on a Saturday and end up having a full dinner there with seconds and then go home and have dinner with my family afterwards.

10 – I am accident prone. Ridiculously accident prone. The second time I got on a horse, I fell off it and broke my tailbone. I was learning to snowboard (Mr. Fairweather’s idea) and came off the button lift and tore ligaments in my ankle. To name but a few……

As for picking a favourite blog – that’s a really, really tough one. But I think I will have to go with my friend Julie at Cookie Crumbs To Live By. As I have said before, Julie is a kindred spirit. Her blog posts are steeped in faith and a belief in God that makes me want to be a better person. She finds the most beautiful quotes and references and everything is put so gently and eloquently it makes you stop. Her posts some days are like a stone dipped in honey and held up to the light – they make me stop and look at the mundane anew. Sometimes, I flick ahead to her posts in my reader to see what quotes she has popped up this time and what writer I should be reading a bit more of next. All of this before her gorgeous photos. I can’t sing her praises enough. Please go visit.

 

Now for my blog nominations. I have stuck to small Irish blogs this time. So, in no particular order….

Lynsey’s Babywearing Adventures – if for nothing else than just to drool over the lovely wraps and the fancy techniques that she uses. If I am too poor to afford new wraps, then I am going to live vicariously through her.

Adventures In Tandeming – an honest look at life as a stay at home mom of two smallies. I think we need more blogs that are honest about how messy life is. So us moms know that it’s ok to struggle. That struggling doesn’t mean you are bad at being a mom. But apart from that just go oggle her food art for baby led weaning. Yum.

Natural Irish Parenting – Bobbi is a Work at Home Mom and loves all the things I do. The clothes she makes are only gorgeous. Her blog is fairly new but please check her out.

Natural Penniless Parenting – Sam’s blog was put on hold while she set up an initiative to collect slings and baby items for refugee families and then travelled to Greece to deliver them. I am really hoping that she gets back blogging soon. Her tagline is “it needn’t cost the earth”. Need I say anymore about why it appeals to me?

Living Lightly In Ireland – Elaine is a zero waste advocate and her blog aims to help us all live well in an ethical and sustainable manner. Think we could all do with a few tips on that and some gentle encouragement along the way.

 

My eleven questions to my nominees:

1 – What drives you up the wall in people?

2 – What is it that draws you to new people the most?

3 – What was the biggest shock about becoming a parent?

4 – What one thing would you recommend to new parents?

5 – What’s your go to store-cupboard-is-empty meal?

6 – Why blog?

7 – Best place you have travelled to and why?

8 – Any hidden talents?

9 – What talent do you wish you had?

10 – Where do you find your village?

11 – What are you most proud of in life?

8 thoughts on “Happy Birthday To Me

  1. Ok, so at first you had me laughing–and then wanting to shout at you about your best attributes..of which are not lacking, but then, I read on down to the end…I do not deserve such kind words my friend—you have me now in tears…
    good tears…
    hugs and love to my paddling Irish wonder!!!!!
    cookie

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

