Rolling With The Punches

one lone ripe tomato (photo credit: fairweatherpaddler)
one lone ripe tomato
(photo credit: fairweatherpaddler)

The proof is in the pudding. And I think the pudding has fallen flat. Some of my experiments did not work out so well this year. But that’s ok. I’m not admitting defeat yet. A little tweak here or there might yet prove to be the miracle worker I need for next year’s attempt. The straw bale tomatoes seem to just be frozen in time. They don’t look the healthiest but yet, some are producing fruit. I splashed out and bought some tomato feed for them and am hoping that regular applications will resurrect them yet. I live in hope. The spuds I think suffered in the heat and I underestimated how much watering they would need. That’s ok. Live and learn.

making a comeback (photo credit: fairweatherpaddler)
making a comeback
(photo credit: fairweatherpaddler)

My raised beds have taken off all of a sudden. The chard and the spinach are loving it. The courgettes are building up a head of steam and the peas seem to be recovering from the initial shock of being planted straight in to compost. The slugs unfortunately are also loving it but I have recently acquired a box of out of date beer and I am going to invite them to a party.

cornflowers are collapsing everywhere but still look fantastic (photo credit: fairweatherpaddler)
cornflowers are collapsing everywhere but still look fantastic
(photo credit: fairweatherpaddler)

And my flower beds are bursting at the seams. I love them. It feels great to be able to pick a few flowers and bring them with me as I go visiting. I reckon the welcome is warmer when you arrive with home grown flowers, a few hen eggs or maybe a homemade cake. But definitely flowers. Although, I have learned the hard way to check inside the flowers for any creepy crawlies.

So this month, I am rolling with the punches.

my first beetroot (photo credit: fairweatherpaddler)
my first beetroot
(photo credit: fairweatherpaddler)

Sow more of what works. There’s still time for beetroot and I never did get any carrots down so I might try some autumn carrots soon. And my winter salads.
I’ll keep watering the aubergines and cucumbers and peppers. And I watch the sweet potatoes with interest although I am not holding out hope there.

The Little Paddler has finally acquired a taste for raspberries and strawberries. Although I have to take the “paper” (leaves) off first. And we have to feed them to dolly as well. We’ll keep picking. I doubt I’ll get to save enough for jam though. I can barely get in at the raspberry plants for all the weeds. I keep fighting the urge to drop the Little Paddler off with granny and then take out Mr. Fairweather’s strimmer and mow everything down! I make no promises on this score.

When the flowers die back on the comfrey, I’ll give it a good haircut and land the trimmings in on top of the compost.

nom nom nom (photo credit: fairweatherpaddler)
nom nom nom – shhh don’t tell them
(photo credit: fairweatherpaddler)

The ducks are for the chop this month. But this time we have found someone to do the full dozen of them in one go. It’s just too hard with a toddler and I am picking my battles. We did however acquire another eight Khaki Campbells. They are for eggs but as yet are unsexed so some may yet end up accompanying the Aylesburys. I am really looking forward to having a freezer full of meat.

dsc_2085.jpgMostly I shall be tackling the weeds.

And the tunnel.

And doing what I am told by a toddler.

“Sit on the ground mammy.”

“Pick the daisies.”

“Want to pet a duckie.”

you can take your fancy flowers - the Little Paddler is a big fan of buttercups and daisies photo credit: fairweatherpaddler)
you can take your fancy flowers – the Little Paddler is a big fan of buttercups and daisies
photo credit: fairweatherpaddler)

 

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “Rolling With The Punches

  1. love the cornflowers – I never got round to sowing any flowers this year ….. next year …. I keep telling myself.

    We have 12 ducks to kill and process very soon. It is the processing that takes so long, but I am very much looking forward to some more duck 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

