Plastic Free Challenge

This post is short and sweet. The Little Paddler fell off the toilet and bumped her head on the tiles. She’s fine but just wants snuggles and a nurse with her mammy.

I used to think I was doing great because I recycled. The problem is that the more I learn about things, the more I realise how much I don’t know and how much more there is to do. That could really describe anything in life. But for today, it’s describing recycling and plastic.

For the month of July, I am taking up the plastic-free July challenge. I’m hoping to sweet talk Mr. Fairweather in to it as well. Takeaway coffee cups and plastic bottles could be our downfall here. Would love a bit of company on this if anyone else is interested?

7 thoughts on “Plastic Free Challenge

  1. I would love to do this, but.

    But then I start of thinking of all the things I can’t get without plastic. I mean, take-away coffees here don’t come in plastic cups, but I was watching this report on television saying the ‘environmental’ cups aren’t really that environmental because they have plastic liners so you can’t recycle them. Even when you think you’re doing the right thing! 😛

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sometimes I think you have to pick the least worst according to your priorities.
      I found me a stainless steel coffee travel mug. It’s brilliant and I love it. Mr. Fairweather prefers his plastic lined cup for ease of use. Either way it’s less plastic when you think about how much coffee he and I drink. I am a caffeine junkie. ☕☕☕😂😂😂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I’d love to go plastic free, but so many staples for the house come in plastic 😦 I shall pledge to reduce plastic if that counts, just not sure we could go plastic free.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I know. It’s so hard here to buy food with no plastic here too. Seems to be a bit easier in bigger towns and cities. But I’m going to try for the top four challenge. Straws, take away coffee cups, plastic bags and bottles. I expect to stumble. But I reckon I’ll still try. Like the ad says – every little bit helps. 😉

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Ok, I can live without straws, don’t often get take-away coffee, and always use my own bags for shopping anyway, so I can easily not have any of those. Plastic bottles however will be my downfall since when I’m at work it’s so easy to grab a drink bottle of some sort, and not so easy at 5 am to remember to take a drink! My biggest issue is supermarket food wrappings.
        I agree, I think it would likely be easier in a bigger town or city. So living in a small town, I don’t think there is anywhere that would cater to plastic free wrappings. However…. I may make it my mission to find out! And indeed, every little helps, so I’m in 😎

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Yay! It’s the little things that we can stick at that make a difference. Hopefully this month will help me form the habit. Then maybe I can take it another step further at a later date and gradually work my way up. Bit like keeping on top of the weeds. Little and often wins the race.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

