Simplicity Is The Name of The Game

toddler loose in the tunnel (photo credit: fairweatherpaddler)
toddler loose in the tunnel
(photo credit: fairweatherpaddler)

The day has been glorious. The temperatures are heating up and the rain is staying away. It means I’ll have to water my potatoes a bit more often but I can cope with that. The Little Paddler is big on water or “odie” as it is referred to for some reason. She likes to get her “watt-ing can” filled and then proceeds to water the soil beside the plant really, really well. It is kind of hard to resist refilling her “watt-ing can” for her when she holds it up to the tap and cries “Moh peas” on never ending repeat.

The seedlings are jumping out and I really need to get them in to the new bed. But the thistles are taking over the place. I really need Mr. Fairweather to strim everything in sight but he is snowed under with work so its me and the Little Paddler pottering along. With frequent breaks to feed the baby duckies their “ums“. Or have a quick nurse. Or to go look for the hens. Or try and convince the guard dog to come over for a quick belly rub (she doesn’t trust the Little Paddler not to gouge her in the eye and frankly I don’t blame her)Or go check the “orms” in the wormery. She is fascinated with them. Every so often she gets brave enough to pet a worm and then decides that she actually doesn’t like the feel of it at all. So instead we look at it dance on mammy’s palm before deciding to put it back and pick out another one.

With all of this going on, the housework (such as it was) has definitely been put on the back boiler. But I am still striving to reduce our household waste however I can. So I keep an eye or an ear out for alternatives to use, such as cloth and reusables for previously disposables option or else try some homemade versions of cleaning products. The theory being that as I run out of something I can start to slot less wasteful items in. Like dishwasher tablets. All those teeny plastic wrappers…. There must be something better I said to myself. And someone provided me with the answer.

getting ready for the day - aren't you dressed for anything with willies and a cloth nappy (photo credit: fairweatherpaddler)
getting ready for the day – aren’t you dressed for anything with willies and a cloth nappy
(photo credit: fairweatherpaddler)

There are lots of recipes around. But sometimes the list of ingredients put me off. It seemed like such an effort to go looking for citric acid. Or borax. I often joke that I am a lazy parent. Parenting decisions were made for what involved the least effort. We co-sleep so that I don’t have to get out of the bed in the middle of the night to tend to the Little Paddler. I breastfeed so that I don’t have to bother about making up formula and checking that its the right temperature in the middle of the night. We cloth nappy so that I never have to remember to run to the shop and buy a packet of nappies. We did baby-led weaning because there was no way I was going to be organised enough to cook separate meals for her and puree them – she eats the exact same thing as I put out on our plates. I babywear so that I don’t have to negotiate steps and narrow doorways with a buggy. Simplicity is the name of the game here.

So when I came across a really simple recipe for dishwasher powder I thought, this might be just the ticket. And after a bit of trial and error, it seems to be working great. One part dishwasher salt to three parts bread soda. That’s it. I found some things were getting a lighting coating of residue so I went back to research. Plain old vinegar in the rinse aid compartment and away you go. It’s so simple it’s hard to believe. I just fill up a jam jar with the mix and leave it under the sink. One to one and a half tablespoons in the drawer for each wash. I may surprise myself and go fancier at some stage but for now simple is as simple does.

not actually a hard core drug - I promise (photo credit: fairweatherpaddler)
not actually a hard core drug – I promise
(photo credit: fairweatherpaddler)
Leave a Reply

