Things Are Taking Off

The garden is taking off. Well, the thistles are taking off. Every time I go out, another one has reared its head in the middle of my flower beds. And the nettles are doing really well. I am going to have to harvest them and cook something with them to make me feel better about their presence. And the raspberries march ever onwards. We are thinking of setting up a small business selling autumn fruiting raspberries. There’s a fortune to be made, I’m sure of it.

my legume department is coming on well photo credit: fairweatherpaddler)
my legume department is coming on well
photo credit: fairweatherpaddler)

Despite all of that, things are looking up in the garden. My sowings have sprouted and are looking great. I have pricked them out and potted them on to wait until the beds are ready and frost has passed. My second sowings are sprouting and catching up fast. There may be something to be said for sowing everything late after all. But I am slowly getting organised in the garden. I have even managed to tick about half the things off of last month’s list. Good going I reckon, given everything else being so hectic.

Finish conditioning my bales and plant them up. My tomato sowings have not fared that well but I did manage to swap some of my extra flowers for someone else’s extra tomatoes so there is hope yet. Think I’ll try some of my extra lettuce and rocket in the bales as well. And flowers. Can’t have enough flowers in there.

Some more sowings to keep staggering the harvest. Although if everything goes well and if the slugs don’t mow down the seedlings, or the hares and rabbits eat everything, I am going to have to start doing a lot of preserving.

Earth up the spuds and maybe put another layer of tyres on.

Plant out in to my new no-dig beds (well finish them first). I need to work out my planting scheme – as in how many will fit in where. But that really is just a case of sitting down with pen and paper, books and a pot of tea.

The weather never got warm enough to risk opening the bees so I really have to do that shortly and pile the supers on top before they decide to swarm on me. The poor bees must despair at me altogether.

love the colour on these (photo credit: fairweatherpaddler)
love the colour on these
(photo credit: fairweatherpaddler)

My sweet pea screen is still a pipe dream but Mr. Fairweather has promised to help get it up and going soon. I have the sweet peas ready to go once its location is agreed and the screen up.

Get my strawberry beds up and running.

Feed the soil in my tunnel. It has been much abused these last few years and I am trying to rest it this year and give it some much needed TLC.

Sit and watch the ducklings. Or as Little Paddler likes to announce. “BABY DUCKIES! BEEP BEEP.” (Ducks quack. Ducklings say beep beep.)

out in the grass for the first time (photo credit: fairweatherpaddler)
out in the grass for the first time
(photo credit: fairweatherpaddler)
7 thoughts on “Things Are Taking Off

  1. oh the joys of Springtimes growth—I have thistles sprouting in the pasture in the middle of our year old plantings of the pecan trees—and one lone potted tomato—I wouldn’t be a true Southerner if I didn’t manage at least one tomato plant 🙂
    I feel a song coming on…”the ducks in the yard go beep beep beep…beep beep beep, beep beep beep… the duck in the yard go beep beep beep…all the live long day…”

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I hope your lone tomato plant produces a bumper crop. Don’t forget all the green tomato recipes I had last year.
      I must sing that to the Little Paddler. She loves music and is already a better singer than her mammy. Wouldn’t really be hard. Fortunately, she got her daddy’s musical ear.

      Like

Leave a Reply

