Busy Living Life

toddler loose in the tunnel (photo credit: fairweatherpaddler)
toddler loose in the tunnel
(photo credit: fairweatherpaddler)

Mr. Fairweather is flat out trying to get college assignments done and exams studied for. I have essentially been banned from the computer while he tries to pull everything together. It’s not too bad really as the weather has picked up and the Little Paddler and I are outside so much that we haven’t really had time to blog about life – we have been too busy living it.

There are no huge headways to speak of but small progress is being made. My beds are finally in place and we are slowly filling them up with rotted cow dung that we have procured. I laid out a good thick layer of cardboard in the bottom of the beds and then Mr. Fairweather did the heavy work of moving the dung in to the beds. once that was in, I treaded the first layer down a bit like treading grapes to make wine. Just not barefoot and not as fragrant I’d imagine. The amount I had didn’t go as far as I had hoped bit I have managed to get a promise of more. The farmer is quite busy so I don’t know when he’ll be able to bring me another two scoopfuls up. I might gently ask again so I can start to plan a bit better. But I know that he will bring it when he can. So YAY! Progress.

a virtual smorgasbord of plants for my garden (photo credit: fairweatherpaddler)
a virtual smorgasbord of plants for my garden
(photo credit: fairweatherpaddler)

The Little Paddler and I have been spending lots of time in the tunnel. At the very least, each day we go in to water all the seedlings. And what I thought was going to be a mammoth job of pricking out my seedlings has turned out much easier than expected. I take one or two vegetables each time and prick them out by hand to transplant into larger modules. So instead of a dozen seedlings in one small module, I now have three or four small plants in larger plugs of soil. If the beds aren’t ready in time, I may have to transplant them to individual plugs but the bigger they get, the hardier they will be and the less daunting it will seem to move them. I used to go in of an evening and just stare at the great expanse of tiny seedlings and wonder how in God’s name I was going to move these without damaging or breaking them. The trick is hold them by their leaves, not the stems and do them in small batches, watering in well as you go.

courgettes are hopping (photo credit: fairweatherpaddler)
courgettes are hopping
(photo credit: fairweatherpaddler)

Some plants are hopping. The courgettes are huge! As are the broad beans and cauliflower. Some plants are slower coming on like the chard and beetroot, peas and runner beans. And some seeds I had given up on altogether, but it seems they just take ages to germinate. Celeriac, poppies and tomatoes – I am looking at you! I have even managed to get a second sowing in of some things. Nice stuff like sunflowers and poppies and peas. See sometimes I can be organised! Sometimes….

salads are coming on well (photo credit: fairweatherpaddler)
salads are coming on well
(photo credit: fairweatherpaddler)

I’ll need to rework my planting plan but that’s a job for a rainy day or some evening when the Little Paddler is in bed. She is worn out come evening time but true to herself, she keeps going until the end. Why would you go to sleep if there was some action to be had mammy? Sure, you couldn’t risk missing any craic. Thank God for wraps. I can wrap her on to my back when she is getting tired and she can still see the action but is safe and secure and will eventually fall asleep there. The other day  she fell asleep on my back and we decided to lay her out in the tunnel on a sheet of cardboard and the wrap. She slept and slept in the heat with the hens nosing around to their hearts content. It was idyllic. Sometimes my heart swells to bursting looking at her. She’s a super baby. And she’s my baby. I think we are raising her right. Surely when your toddler brings her wellies and coat to the door and cries for the tunnel so she can dig in the dirt and water everything except the plants, that means you are doing something right? Surely that’s a sign of a happy childhood?

mucky child means happy child surely? (photo credit: fairweatherpaddler)
mucky child means happy child surely?
(photo credit: fairweatherpaddler)
Leave a Reply

