Busy Little Bee

doing a to do list over a cuppa (photo credit: fairweatherpaddler)
doing a to do list over a cuppa
(photo credit: fairweatherpaddler)

People continue to amaze me with their generosity. Especially when it’s people that you haven’t even met. I love my little online community. One of the women on it is moving her vegetable patch and is looking for good homes for some of her excess plants. A lot of what she has to offer I have, such as autumn fruiting raspberries and various currants. Some I know I can get closer to home like lemon balm and mint. But she also has on offer white alpine strawberries and bronze fennel. Now those I am interested in. She is a Work At Home Mum and makes gorgeous knits and cloth nappy related products under the name The Swedish Seamstress. Please check her out if you can. She’s new to all this starting your own business malarkey but is plunging on in and taking a stall at the Earth Baby Fair in April. I really hope she does well at it. I can’t wait for the fair. Not just because of all the gorgeous stuff at it, or to collect my plants which she is bringing to the fair. But also to meet some of my online community in real life. It’s always great to put faces to names.

loved these last summer (photo credit: fairweatherpaddler)
loved these last summer
(photo credit: fairweatherpaddler)

I wanted to do something nice for her so I wracked my brain to try and think what I had that I could share. She had rhubarb but was happy to take some rosemary and sage. And some of my primroses. She wanted some flowers to encourage bees and other pollinators. What about lupins? Bumblebees adored my lupins last year. And even better, I had seed saved to try. So I’ve sown some lupin seeds with her name on the pot and lets hope they sprout. I got me thinking though. What other plants are good for pollinators (especially my poor neglected honeybees)? Wouldn’t it be great to have something for them in the garden all year round? As you may have gathered, I do like a plan and love a good list I do. It turns out that some plants such as cornflower give you real bang for your buck regarding bees and others like hollyhock, while beautiful to look at having a brief window where the bees find them as attractive as we do.

So without further ado – here’s my bee friendly plant calendar.

January

  • hazel
  • snowdrop
  • winter aconite

February

  • hazel
  • snowdrop
  • snowflake (Spring or summer varieties actually)
  • squill
  • winter aconite

March

  • crocus
  • fuschia
  • grape hyacinth
  • hazel
  • mahonia
  • pussy willow
  • snowdrop
  • snowflake
  • squill
  • winter aconite

April

  • bluebell
  • broom
  • crocus
  • dandelion
  • forget-me-not
  • fuschia
  • grape hyacinth
  • mahonia
  • snowflake
  • squill

May

some of our very local holly (photo credit: fairweatherpaddler)
some of our very local holly
(photo credit: fairweatherpaddler)
  • bluebell
  • broom
  • cornflower
  • forget-me-not
  • fuschia
  • hawthorn
  • holly
  • snowflake
  • Solomon’s seal
  • squill

June

  • broom
  • cornflower
  • forget-me-not
  • fuschia
  • hawthorn
  • holly
  • honeysuckle
  • lupin
  • nasturtium
  • Solomon’s seal
  • thyme

July

I can't resist mixing flowers in with my vegetable beds (photo credit: fairweatherpaddler)
I can’t resist mixing flowers in with my vegetable beds
(photo credit: fairweatherpaddler)
  • bramble
  • broom
  • cornflower
  • forget-me-not
  • fuschia
  • globe thistle
  • hawthorn
  • heather
  • hollyhock
  • honeysuckle
  • lavender
  • lupin
  • nasturtium
  • sage
  • sunflower
  • thyme

 

August

  • bramble
  • cornflower
  • forget-me-not
  • fuschia
  • globe thistle
  • heather
  • hollyhock
  • honeysuckle
  • lavender
  • nasturtium
  • sage
  • sunflower

September

  • fuchsia flowers and berries (photo credit: fairweatherpaddler)
    fuchsia flowers and berries
    (photo credit: fairweatherpaddler)

    cornflower

  • forget-me-not
  • fuschia
  • globe thistle
  • heather
  • honeysuckle
  • lavender
  • nasturtium
  • sunflower

October

  • cornflower
  • forget-me-not
  • fuschia
  • globe thistle
  • nasturtium
Leave a Reply

