Why So Busy?

Did you know there’s a difference between being busy and being fruitful? Did you ever stop to think that just being busy – running around in circles all day but not accomplishing anything – is the same as wasting your time? It’s frustrating to expend so much energy and time and not have any fruit from your effort!
– Joyce Meyer

Life is busy at the minute.

Hectic might be a better word.

not what I wanted to see (photo credit: fairweatherpaddler)
not what I wanted to see
(photo credit: fairweatherpaddler)

We are trying to get the house finished up and cleaned out and moved in to. I can see why people get professional cleaners in after a house is finished. There is a lot of dust and dollops of plaster and splashes of paint. I am ignoring the lot. Well apart from the dust. The plumber came today to finish off the sinks and plumb the washing machine and dishwasher this morning. He left and after a while the Little Paddler and I went back out to continue cleaning only to find a leak coming through the wall and under the floorboards. The sink in the utility room had formed a little river. Mr. Fairweather fixed it and we borrowed a dehumidifier from the neighbours. Providence has provided in the form of a load of secondhand furniture that was free to take away. So between that and what we have in our garage, I think we are fairly sorted for the basics. I just need to sweet talk some helpers into moving furniture…

Little Paddler's party frocks ready to roll (photo credit: fairweatherpaddler)
Little Paddler’s party frocks ready to roll
(photo credit: fairweatherpaddler)

There are two weddings coming up within the space of a fortnight. I have very few fancy dresses that I can breastfeed the Little Paddler in and I’m too busy to go looking for another dress that I cannot afford. But fortunately I am not playing a starring role in either of these weddings so I will leave the glamour up to others and recycle the same dress yet again. But what of the Little Paddler and her glamour? Providence provides of course. My cousin dropped over some boxes of clothes for the Little Paddler that her girls were finished with. It just so happens that there are two lovely dresses in the boxes that will do for a wedding so she doesn’t have to go in her waterproof trousers and zebra wellies. Phew – panic over.

Did I mention that Mr. Fairweather is injured? Fractured rib since you ask. No, I didn’t do it to him. So needless to say the big jobs in the garden have slowed right down. He managed to strim the patch I am going to use for my raised beds. And we splashed out and bought timber for my raised beds. He and the Little Paddler are currently treating the timber. To be honest, she potters beside him throwing stones in to buckets of water lying around the place while he paints. It’s an arrangement that suits everyone. I am hoping to get the beds sorted out this week or next but we’ll be taking things easy with Mr. Fairweather.

better get busy sowing (photo credit: fairweatherpaddler)
better get busy sowing
(photo credit: fairweatherpaddler)

Last week, when he really didn’t feel like doing much and had managed to get out of the bed, we packed up the car and headed for my favourite garden centre. We splashed out money we didn’t have on brunch and coffee because sometimes, you just have to be nice to yourselves. And if a fractured rib isn’t reason enough, well then I just give up. The Little Paddler and I went wandering around ogling plants and sniffing at flowers. If you point at a flower, real or picture, she’ll bury her face in to it to sniff. It’s actually really adorable. So we wandered around aimlessly until we ended up at the vegetable seed stand – un-chaperoned. I have been consulting various books and catalogues about what plants and what varieties but to be honest, it was about as clear as mud and I had been feeling overwhelmed. But I knew I could manage spuds and onions so I got a basket and threw a bag of each in. Then I turned my attention towards the seed packets. I had a vague list of what I wanted in my head and started rooting around. The Little Paddler was keen to help and threw her own few in as well. I hope she plans on eating what she selected – rainbow chard, various beetroots and beans. Her track record with these veg isn’t the best. At least the seeds were on offer.

So many people walk around with a meaningless life. They seem half-asleep, even when they’re busy doing things they think are important. This is because they’re chasing the wrong things.
– Morrie Schwartz

So what will I plan on doing this month?

  1. Sow some seeds of course!
  2. Build and prepare my two raised beds.
  3. Move house!
  4. Stop and smell the flowers.

    my first rose! (photo credit: fairweatherpaddler)
    my first rose!
    (photo credit: fairweatherpaddler)
5 thoughts on “Why So Busy?

  1. I think little pad’s dresses will be stunning–I really like the one on top…as for this cracked rib—an odd coincidence in timing if you ask me—right when things are to be kicking up in the garden–sounds like something my husband would, pre plan an emergency surgery or something else life threatening just to discourage my endeavors —wish I was there to help you move—been there done that with little to no help when my big child was a little tike, and I was teaching in one town while living in another town and needing to move to another—all while my husband was working and we were finishing the house ourselves—so I feel for you for certain! and this could be my best excuse to plan a return trip 🙂 to my home country away from home… 🙂

    Like

  2. Sounds like you have a very busy life at the moment. I remember that feeling too when my children were tiny.You can’t do everything. Things changed when I decided to concentrate on the things that were important to me and leave the other stuff out. Jobs I really hated but had to do got 20 minutes of my time (cleaning!) and I made sure that I did something I really loved every single day because time slips by so fast.

    Like

Leave a Reply

