Apples and Pears

Last year…..

It seems so strange talking about a couple of months ago as “last year”.

How and ever….

freshly baked apple tart photo credit: fairweatherpaddler)
freshly baked apple tart
photo credit: fairweatherpaddler)

Last year, I had a bumper crop of apples and pears. Not a whole heap else (although we did get a bit of rhubarb). But lots of apples and pears at any rate. Mr. Fairweather envisioned tarts galore. I decided there was only so many days in a row that I could make and eat tarts and only so long I could look at bags of these things decorating my kitchen and table. The current living quarters are cosy and perfect for two of us, but not so great with the Little Paddler’s arrival. But this post is not about house building. It’s about food. Apples and pears to be specific. They were everywhere. I was going to have to preserve some of this fine produce or watch it go to waste. So I did what it seems I do best. I procrastinated and then I experimented a bit.

Mr. Fairweather went to work (photo credit: fairweatherpaddler)
Mr. Fairweather went to work
(photo credit: fairweatherpaddler)

The apples we simply peeled and cored and chopped up. The rhubarb similarly was washed and chopped. These were labelled (because I have learnt lessons from the past) and flung in to the freezer for various baked recipes at a later date. If they are going to be baked into something delicious, they don’t need to retain shape when cooking so freezing (in my book) is fine.

the pear harvest were like rocks photo credit: fairweatherpaddler)
the pear harvest were like rocks
(photo credit: fairweatherpaddler)

The pears I had bigger plans for. These pears are huge. I thought they were Conference pear trees we had planted until they started fruiting. Then I realised I haven’t a clue. In previous years I tried leaving them to ripen on the tree only to learn that pears don’t ripen on the tree. They mature and fall off and ripen on the ground. You bring them indoors let them ripen on the windowsill for anything from a couple of days to a few weeks. Eat when they have softened. They won’t store well soft. I haven’t got enough room on windowsills for pears. My windowsills are covered in experiments aka pots of plants varying from struggling to thriving and anywhere in between. What’s a girl to do? Wait for it….

I am a big fan of a pear and almond upside down cake. I usually use tins of pears. Suppose I poached my own pears and bottled them up to keep over the winter?

“Is that really going to work?” asks Mr. Fairweather.

“There’s only one way to find out.” says I.

So we dug out jars left over from my chutney making and got cracking peeling, coring and slicing pears. If there’s one thing I have learned from my beekeeping, it’s how to make a decent sugar syrup. One part sugar to one part water. You can use whatever type of sugar you like. Personally I find the soft brown sugars, light or dark, too intense. I prefer Demarara sugar if you can get your hands on it. Heat this mixture up slowly and stir until the sugar dissolves. You don’t want it to boil.

poaching spices photo credit: fairweatherpaddler)
poaching spices
photo credit: fairweatherpaddler)

Then you crack open your spices and start experimenting. I added star anise, cinnamon, cardamom and nutmeg to the first batch. The jury is split down the middle. I liked it. Mr. Fairweather found it overwhelming. I made a second batch with just cardamom. That got the thumbs up everywhere. I then slowly cook the pears in the spiced syrup until you can pierce them with a knife.

ready for the winter (photo credit: fairweatherpaddler)
ready for the winter
(photo credit: fairweatherpaddler)

In the mean time, boil the jars and lids you are using for storage. Spoon the cooked pears into the jars and then pour syrup over them until pears are completely submerged in syrup. Seal the lids. Label and store until you are ready to eat. We tried these with vanilla ice cream and fresh custard. Moreish. Definitely moreish.

poached apples and custard photo credit: fairweatherpaddler)
poached apples and custard
photo credit: fairweatherpaddler)

The nice thing about this is that you can leave out the bottling up bit and simply have them straight away. It’s really quick to do. And a nice light dessert. We had ours after Christmas dinner. It hit just the right note as we were too stuffed to consider the double chocolate mousse cheesecake that Granny had brought. And it turns out that frozen apples, defrosted and cooked in syrup with vanilla and cloves are another winning combination. And whatever you don’t have for dessert that evening can be chopped up and thrown in to the porridge the next morning.

 

7 thoughts on “Apples and Pears

  1. Yes, Fair Weather Paddler you have discovered the secret of PEARS that they ripen off the tree. What a glorious thing it is to have a few hard pears and days later what a joy it is to sit down to an amazing juicy treat. Is there any way of freezing them in bulk or storing them so that they can be taken out later. Just wishing for a solution for you. What aboutAsian pears? Are they relatives?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I suppose like chopping and freezing the apples, I should be able to do the same for pears. I might try some next year. The jars of poached pears in syrup have stored really well so far. Only one had a bit of mould and that was where the pears weren’t fully covered in syrup. Open up the jar and either have straight or heat the contents up again. Delicious.

      Like

  2. Oh I too have a lovely and most delicious little recipe for poached pears in which any half remaining bottle or so of wine or champagne is utilized —and once poached and chilled, I turn it all into a tasty little salad using balsamic vinegar, sugared walnuts, dried cranberries, and a touch of creme fraiche 🙂
    But I want to give the desert custard a try!! So heady yet wonderful satisfying 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I use any “leftover” white wine or champagne for half the poaching liquid–still with the required sugar and spices–plus I split a vanilla bean in half–didn’t know it your’s required vanilla but it adds a lovely layer of complexity 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

