Ridiculously Delighted

Whoop whoop! Helendep at New Peasant nominated my little blog for a Versatile Blogger Award. I am so thrilled – I am still dancing around the room days later. Thank you so much Helendep for my first ever blog award nomination. So in a little break from the norm, I’m not blogging about my experiments, successes or failures. Today is just about the Versatile Blogger Award. So first, the rules.

If you are nominated, you’ve been awarded the Versatile Blogger award.
• Thank the person who gave you this award. That’s common courtesy.
• Include a link to their blog. That’s also common courtesy.
• Next, select 15 blogs/bloggers that you’ve recently discovered or follow regularly.
• Nominate those 15 bloggers for the Versatile Blogger Award.
• Finally, tell the person who nominated you 7 things about yourself.

To me fifteen blogs seems like an awful lot to nominate. Then, when I started looking at the blogs I follow, there are so many excellent blogs out there that I found it hard to whittle it down to fifteen. So here goes. In no particular order….

The soon to be published Young Adult Literature author SJOHart has to be in this list and not just because she’s a pal. She has been a great support to me from the beginning. Her self deprecating humour and awesome use of the English vocabulary need to be appreciated. And she does a pretty mean book review.

Pickin Petals Flower Farm – ‘An awesome one woman flower farm.’ And she is. Great photos and really helpful advice for novices like myself. I recommend her on Twitter and Instagram as well.

Cookie Crumbs To Live By – Julie is a kindred spirit. Her blog posts are steeped in faith and a belief in God that makes me want to be a better person. She finds the most beautiful quotes and references and everything is put so gently and eloquently it makes you stop. Her posts some days are like a stone dipped in honey and held up to the light – they make me stop and look at the mundane anew.

Will Wally Wonder – for sheer tenacity at overcoming her own self-doubt to put her blogging out there. I love her quirky posts. They speak to the slightly bonkers in me. She gets me.

Country Garden UK – Even if you visit this blog for nothing else but the amazing photos, make sure and visit it. Gillian is so talented. And generous with her time and expertise when it comes to plants.

Little Wild Streak – Another blog with lovely nature photography. This time it’s full of wildlife on an East Texas tree farm. I am always stunned at what TextileRanger sees just walking around. I need to open my eyes a bit more and see what’s around me

Starting With Rufus – Here is another beginner getting out there and trying new things in the garden. Inspired by and inspiring others. She is the reason I picked up pen and paper and took to drawing again. I forgot how much I like to draw, so thanks for that.

The Catholic Table – Friendship, community, faith and food should always go hand in hand, especially in a Catholic home. This is what Emily’s blog is all about. I love that she wears her faith on her sleeve and makes it ok for me to believe in my God. And through her writing she sets an amazing example of how to live out that faith. I am inspired.

Made Right (Here) – Anna couldn’t quite believe that Chinese garlic was a thing here but it’s actually really hard to buy garlic not grown in China which is ridiculous considering I live in Ireland. Her blog has encouraged me to think more about what I do buy and where it comes from.

Katy Had a Little Farm – Katy’s blog is a how to of gardening as well as a space for more experienced gardeners to get together. I love it because it makes me go back over what I thought I knew and reassess. It forces me to make sure I can walk before I run.

Murphy’s Law – Dana is a literary coach who blogs about little slices of family life. Beautiful snippets. Stop by some time.

Two Acres In The Woods – Jami and her family are making an off-grid homestead. What she is able to do with two small children to look after at the same time spurs me on to wrap the Little Paddler on and just get out and do stuff.

Lottie Land Girl – Karrie captures their adventures in the allotment through the most amazing photography. I kid you not. It’s like a coffee table book. And it gives me hope that I may yet get my garden under control.

Breaking Up With Contraception – The tag reads ‘a frank account of one woman’s quest to get knocked up’ and she is as hilarious as the tagline suggests. Things have been a bit quiet lately (read for yourself) but I love Ella’s posts especially her Friday Favourites which are a selection of what’s interesting out in blogland.

The Garden Smallholder – Karen blogs about chickens, organically grown vegetables, wildlife friendly garden and cooking. Need I say anymore?

 

Now the hard bit. Seven things about myself……….

  1. I am currently mainlining caffeine in order to survive a sick and teething baby.
  2. I have really wonky ankles and they have been known to give way randomly. For no apparent reason. None.
  3. I am ridiculously insecure – afraid to stand out from the crowd or stick my head up above the parapet (especially where my faith is concerned).
  4. I struggle to figure out what God wants me to do. If He would write me a letter or send a text, that would be great.
  5. I love kayaking but I am terrified of drowning. Seriously. That’s how I think I’ll go in the end.
  6. I drive myself crazy trying to keep everyone happy. I am working on doing that less.
  7. I have conversations with myself where I answer myself back. I’m told it’s time to worry when you answer yourself.

 

18 thoughts on “Ridiculously Delighted

  1. Heyy! You nominated moi? How utterly awesome of you.

    Thank you! As I, too, am dealing with a fractious drooling mini-me, it might be a while before I get around to taking part – but I will do so asap. And thank you so very much. I love your other picks, and can’t wait to get clicking and following!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

