Doodle Doodle Doodle

Winter is definitely on the way. The temperature has dropped. The wind and the rain have picked up. It’s time to start battening down the hatches. I’ve pulled the fleece lined wellies out from storage and Little Paddler wears tights under her trousers now. She occasionally deigns to wear a hat. More than likely, she’ll fling it at Boris. Incidentally Boris is no longer clucky but still remains the only hen with a name. Mr. Fairweather and my uncle think that the other two should also have Russian names – Vladimir and Dostoevsky?

lovely simple pattern - shouldn't take too long I said nine months ago (photo credit: fairweatherpaddler)
lovely simple pattern – shouldn’t take too long I said nine months ago
(photo credit: fairweatherpaddler)

So as the wind howls outside, my thoughts turn to jobs like finishing the Little Paddler’s jumper before she’s outgrown it. I’m not the fastest knitter by a long stretch. Mr. Fairweather claims he waited three years for a scarf. I insist he is exaggerating. No one believes me.

People in the know tell me that even though the outside gardening jobs are winding down, there are still jobs to do. The nice inside ones while the wind howls outside. Apparently, it’s the time to start planning and ordering seeds. But how do you know what to order and how much. I always end up with way too many seeds. They’re cheaper than plants so an extra packet here and there won’t hurt, right?

dicentra (photo credit: fairweatherpaddler)
dicentra
(photo credit: fairweatherpaddler)

I need to get organised and do some planning. But it’s so daunting actually deciding. I much prefer daydreaming. What I need is some inspiration. And I found it at the lovely blog, Starting With Rufus. Never drawn up a planting plan before? Big deal. Just dive right in. I love it. It’s like doodling and daydreaming but with a real purpose at the end. So off I went. I dug out pens and paper and started. I got a little sidetracked with the doodling but who cares. It makes me happy and is good for the head and soul.

foxgloves (photo credit: fairweatherpaddler)
foxgloves
(photo credit: fairweatherpaddler)

So, now in the evenings, when the Little Paddler is asleep, I draw and doodle. It’s a work in progress. So far I’m still working on my cut flower beds. Working my way up to the vegetable beds and tunnel you see. I’ll keep you posted on progress.

2 thoughts on “Doodle Doodle Doodle

Leave a Reply

