Be Gentle With Yourself

My Little Paddler is a bit under weather. Poor thing is trying hard to be in good form. She is a little snot machine and feeling very sorry for herself especially come evening time. She has been running a fever off and on, been off her food and has been stuck to me nursing most of the night. Thank God for breastfeeding that I know at least she is getting the nutrients she needs as well as lots of comfort. The problem is that she is feeding like a newborn while weighing a tonne. I know all about it in the morning after a night of a toddler wriggling and crawling and contorting herself on my chest all night. Mr. Fairweather took pity on me today and took her off to help him with jobs while I crawled back in to bed. The sheer luxury of being able to starfish in your own bed.

Echinops Veitchs Blue (photo credit: fairweatherpaddler)
Echinops Veitchs Blue
(photo credit: fairweatherpaddler)

I have been feeling a bit run down myself and am working on being gentle with myself. So after crawling out of the bed some hours later, we packed up and headed to a local garden centre for coffee and a wander around. I managed not to buy any plants although I was tempted by an Echinops Veitchs Blue and a Viburnum Tinus Eve. Instead we ended up trawling through packs of spring flowering bulbs. I grabbed a pack of Honey Lilies, Sparaxis, Ranunculus, Anemones, Freesias, Winter Aconites and Dutch Irises. Mr. Fairweather took one look and asked where exactly I was thinking of planting these….. Tumbleweeds blew through as I tried to think of an acceptable answer. I put them back.

dutch master daffodil bulbs (photo credit: fairweatherpaddler)
dutch master daffodil bulbs
(photo credit: fairweatherpaddler)

Daffodil bulbs however were deemed acceptable. We were going to pack them in beneath the Scots Pines along the lane. Also deemed acceptable were garlic bulbs. We have tried garlic before and simply thrown it into the ground and hoped for the best. This time we are prepared; forewarned and forforearmed.

wonderfully pungent bulbs ready to plant (photo credit: fairweatherpaddler)
wonderfully pungent bulbs ready to plant
(photo credit: fairweatherpaddler)

We got two types to try. Thermidrome is a French garlic that is supposed to be early and high yielding while Cristo forms lovely strongly flavoured bulbs. Both can be planted in the autumn. They need free draining soil in a sunny site. Plant in rows and leave four to six inches between cloves and twelve inches between rows. The pointed end of bulb faces up and sits just below the soil’s surface. Keep well watered while growing. It’s ready for harvesting once leaves start to yellow.

I cannot wait. Love roasting whole bulbs of garlic for hours. The garlic goes lovely and sweet and gooey and is great in a risotto.

Leave a Reply

